Sound of music and good stories

Most of all I like the sound of silence!

However, when I work on my own – in my studio – or in the house – I often turn on the radio for the news or for an interesting debate or interview. But most of all I love to listen to music (prefer classic) and to all kinds of stories read aloud. I borrow lots of tapes and talking books at my library. Especcially I´m found of historical novels and biographies.

At the moment I´m totally "on" Jan Guillou, Swedish journalist and author, and his triology about Arn, a young man from the aristocracy. In a medielval set up – Arn´s lifecyclus as well as the foundation of the nation of Sweden is revealed. That´s just my cup of tea! It´s thrilling, you feel entertained and you get wiser at the same time and you enjoy the pleasure of listening to some wonderfull read-alloud-voice while you´re working. It´s great, I really recommend books on tape!

By the way, same fellow, Guillou writes very up-to-date crimies too, very critical towards society and politics… not bad either… if you are not totally devoted to historical subjects…

About hanne

Mixed media artist working with collage, art-money, artists´ books and communication
This entry was posted in Studio Friday. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sound of music and good stories

  1. Gabi says:

    Music is one of my most favourite sounds!
    This book that you are reading,..I am very interested to find this book in English. do you know if it exists in English print?
    Have a lovely weekend!
    ~Gabi

  2. sharla says:

    I listen to audio books too. I love them. I feel like it’s a double treat because I get to do what I love and listen to great stories at the same time!

  3. Oh my gosh – you are the person who made that gorgeous art-money!! I loved that article – and your style. Absolutely iinspirational and it still sticks in mind.
    P.S What a lovely collection of abacuses!

  4. Ellen says:

    I’m still catching up with all my blogging…..I love this photo! Music, books on tape or cd, these are provide a wonderful background to creating. I too like the sound of silence, but so quickly become aware that even silence has its sounds—-a dog barking in the far distance, the drone of a plane passing overhead, the sound of my breath, the sound of my heartbeat. Even silence provides a musical background if I allow myself to tune into it!

Leave a Reply

