Colours of the decay


I simply love the faded, pale, dusty colours of used, washed-out and second-hand textiles. Doesn´t always matter if some of them have marks, spots and stains and maybe even a hole or a patch. I don´t go for the perfect – but for materials with "soul".

For instance this piece of patchwork is made out of my worn milkboy-striped painter´s jacket, an old table cloth and some tea towels. I like to recycle ideas, materials and stuff. And whenever a new spot or hole appears, I just sew a new patch on top of it, or maybe I chose to add an embrodery of some kind to cover it. In that way a lot of my pieces and clothes could be called "work-in- progress" as they are participating in an ongoing wearing down/ building up process.

About hanne

Mixed media artist working with collage, art-money, artists´ books and communication
This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Colours of the decay

  1. the pieces of yesterday, with their beauty spot stains are artful, the soft faded colors, give a very strong sense of poetry.

  2. Ketutar says:

    Indeed they have soul… Very nice. 🙂

  3. Mina says:

    Looks beautiful!

  4. bekka says:

    what a nice idea. i love how you recycled those fabric pieces and that “gently used” look is so appealing.

  5. Karin says:

    I also love faded washed out colors. I also the the vintage loook and feel of old fabric. What a great patchwork of colors! Karin

  6. Stephanie says:

    Very nice, they speak of strong pioneer women to me.

  7. michelle says:

    I love faded out tiny floral prints. Things that remind you of heavily played in/washed little girls dresses from years ago. You’re right in the *soul* of old fabric…frayed edges and the like are so comforting.

  8. Nancy says:

    Wow, very appealing! I agree, there is history and poetry in the old and worn.

Leave a Reply

