A full circle


Got a very nice surprise by today’s post: An American flat rate envelope containing a heavy magazine: Handcrafted – The best of Stampington & Company. I didn’t order anything from Stampington recently, so I was really amazed.

However, Handcrafted is a special publication where the editors and team of Stampington represent their favourite articles and a gallery of readers´ art from previous magazines (Somerset Studio, Stampers´Sampler, Legacy, etc). and finally, when I turned to page 186 I realized this issue has been sent to me because a collage of mine was published in Legacy Spring 2003. It was so funny and strange to get this greeting from my past.

The collage I had made then was an image of my youngest daughter, Emilie, in a moment of deep contemplation, eating a watermelon somewhere in Greece. It was accompanied by a text about the experience of time you have when you’re a child and summer holiday seems equivalent to eternity.

Well, I think you can be lucky to experience the same feeling of beeing present; not in the past, not in the future but being present in the eternal now, but in glimpses only, when you’re a grown-up person. Actually, it’s a feeling I’m always longing for and today my own collage and words were send to me to remind me of this. Most interesting…

About hanne

Mixed media artist working with collage, art-money, artists´ books, ceramics and communication
This entry was posted in Daily life, Family, Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A full circle

  1. Ellen says:

    Oh, Hanne, this is exciting! I am sure I have that issue of Legacy, and I can’t wait to get it out and look at your published work! I think I also have Handcrafted! I just love getting surprises in the mail…..and this was a wonderful surprise for you! Awesome.

    PS: I reply to some of your emails and comments but don’t know if you receive them……do you think that’s possible? I also have two different email addresses for you and don’t know which one to use……..

  2. Hanne says:

    To Ellen – and whom else it might concern: You can use the adress you prefer; I always check both of them in the same procedure. Actually I have had a few messages bounced recently as my mailbox was too overfilled, but then I usually mail people and ask them to try again…

Leave a Reply

