Time


I don’t know about you, but for me being active and creative is one of the most important aspects of life I can possibly think of; almost as essential as breathing. When breathing stops, life stops. When creativity stops the meaning of life stops. It’s as simple as that, actually.

Why is it then so difficult to live a life according to this statement? Why do I always accept practical issues and obligations to get my attention first, when what I really want to do is to work in my studio? I wonder…

What happens to time? Days, weeks, years pass. Sometimes I´m too busy to really reflect on this, but at other occations I´m totally aware: life without creativity is boring; mostly a question of doing the dishes, doing the homework for the next day, paying the bills and the rent and stuff like that. Why is it then, I have this feeling I almost have to steal time for my important creative work? Oh my God, this is something I want to change: my priorities. I want to be better doing the parts that are important to me according to my life philosophy – even if it means I will have to do less of the obligatory stuff, and even if it means I’ll have to say “no” and decline both offerings and tasks. I hate to disappoint people, but I’ll learn to say “no” and to do that in a gentle, firm and non-offending way. It’s not that I don’t want to please others, or don’t want others to be happy; it’s simply because I have an important project going on in my own life, and I can’t get into doing it properly when too concerned about other peoples´ business and what they might think of me, my way of living, my paintings or whatever…

About hanne

Mixed media artist working with collage, art-money, artists´ books and communication
This entry was posted in Daily life, Studio Friday. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Time

  1. Tine says:

    So interesting Hanne. I feel so similar so often when I sit down to paint or make an illustration for myself. I feel guilt and pressured and it all rolls over me, hahah! I fight it as good as I can though. I love your view on this, I feel so similar.

    xoxo

  2. kerri says:

    I completely identify. I am reading a book by Jennifer Loudon, called the Woman’s Retreat Book, and there’s a quote in it about how we’re raised to please others so we feel guilty when we do for ourselves, but that it’s essential!!!! so keep up the creative work!!!

  3. kim says:

    Perfectly Put! (I am practicing my NO right now)

  4. Anke says:

    Well, I guess you can appreciate those rare creative times more. I don’t know if my creativity would give me such a satisfaction, when I had to do it every day. Isn’t that with all things in life, what you don’t have at the moment seems so attractive, but when you have it, after a while it’s not that great anymore. So enjoy your rare creative time it’s so precious. And don’t feel guilty stealing some time for it.
    Anke 😉

  5. Debbie says:

    Very well put! Been there, done that, been back there again… did it AGAIN! Yup – I certainly identify with you! Over a decade ago I bought a book “I feel guility when I say no”. It really helped me to start saying “no”. Still a real hard thing to do for me and I work on it every single day – and with some people there is absolutely no way to make it non-offending! So just keep at squeezing that art in. You’ll find what works for you and once you get a cink in your schedule you’ll start squeezing more and more time in. I’m still trying to figure out why with all our labor saving devices that we seem to have LESS time not more. We just seen to find ways to complicate our lives. It’s wonderful that you are so commited to others, but remember you have a commitment to yourself and your art as well. And if they truly care about you they will totally understand! Thanks for the great post!

  6. Gabi says:

    Life without creativity IS BORING and you are sooooo right when you stated that “When creativity stops the meaning of life stops.” That sentence right there, sums it up!!
    Have a lovely weekend!!
    ~Gabrielle

  7. Wow – it is wonderful to see you and so many others who feel this way. I struggled with this for a long time until I realized that there is no life with out creativity. While being an artist can be a lonely business, I take comfort in your words. It is a reminder to just let go of what others are thinking > it clouds our inner voices! Let’s treasure our artistic time, as we are not only making art but generating vital creative energy. We must take the time as artists to create to contribute to the creative engery of the planet. I now look at my art as a duty, to energetically counter balance the negativty and darkness that is out there.
    There is an importance to what we are doing! cheers, cassandra

  8. Abbie says:

    Yep.. that is me to a tee! Time is an awful creature that sneaks up and then runs away from us..
    🙂 Abbie
    great writting ans entry!

  9. Jill says:

    Well said! I have to admit I’m getting better at not always putting me/creating time at the bottom of the to-do list. In the end it all gets done and I’m happier!

  10. Ellen says:

    Hanne, you described perfectly what so many of us experience! I had a conversation the other day with an artist friend, that there is no life without creativity. Even if we are not in our studios creating “art,” we approach so many tasks with a creative mind. And we make tasks for ourselves that tap into that creativity……..like arranging things on a shelf, painting a room, making a fence…….those things recharge and bring satisfaction. Going into the studio, creating, breatihing……………
    hugs,
    e

  11. Hanna says:

    great picture and important thoughts. thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

