Recycled stuff


I´ve decided the motto for my next projects willl bee: first thing´s first, and as I´m going to partipate in an exhibition of art-money in Copenhagen in August, and as the deadline for sending my 50 pieces is 1. August, I think it must be the right place to start.

I usually use a good, heavy aquarelle paper as the basis, but inspired by the thoroughly sorting-of-waste-at the source-system I’ve just experienced in Swedish with public collecting bins for the organic stuff, the non-organic stuff, the paper, the glass, the plastic etc. I decided to dedicate this batch to recycled materials such as cardboard and cartons I’ve got from the local grocery shop. First I´ve soaked the cartoons in water so I could get the different layers apart from each other (otherwise cartons are too tick I think), then I cut it all in the proper dimensions (12X18cm.) and finally I added a layer of chalk/glue/oil to give the cards a patina to go on with.

I quite like the idea of using recycled material for making art-money, actually the very concept of bank notes is based on the idea of recycling. A note is handed from person to person till it’s worn out or replaced by a new design. Within the next days I will design my art-money, using whatever I have in stock – and whatever I find on my way. The worn and tattered material will be upgraded to a new value as I glue, sew, stamp, number and sign it all. Then I shall select the 50 I want to be exhibited in Øksnehallen, and send it, that’s all!

It´ll take at least a couple of days or probably longer, as I’m also planning to take a trip to Samsø this weekend. In my family we have a summer-tradition to meet and spend some days at my mother’s and Bertel´s place: my brothers with their wives and kids and me and my kids and sometimes more cousins and friends drop by. It’s a happy mixture between a holiday camp, an extended family and a festival – and always very, very cosy, funny and intensive days.

About hanne

Mixed media artist working with collage, art-money, artists´ books, ceramics and communication
This entry was posted in Art Money, Art projects, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recycled stuff

  1. Hanna says:

    that looks like a lot o fun Hanne, I will have to try to use old grocery and cereal boxes too, and water them?! 🙂

    hope the creating art money goes well!!

  2. Ellen says:

    Oh, I love the idea of using recycled things! And this looks/sounds like such a wonderful project. I can’t wait to see what you create……….
    hugs,
    ellen

Leave a Reply

