Artist’s blocks?


Somebody asked me if I’ve ever suffered from an artist’s block. It’s said to be a very painful experience where you sit and sit and can’t come up with anything. This can go on for hours, days, weeks even months just like a writer’s block.

Fortunately that has never been my problem. I never feel I’m blocked and about to run out of creative ideas. For me the situation is almost the opposite: My mind is almost running amok with ideas, so my problem is where to start, to give priority to some projects and let go of others. The world seems to be full of interesting possibilities! So I ask my heart: what do you want?

First and foremost I want some more time!!! I always feel I could use more time in the creative department of my life but reality is that daily life department (cleaning, cooking, paying your bills, etc.) always takes the lion’s share so to speak.

Sometimes I dream I want to immigrate to the woods of Sweden, to live a secluded, simple life. I can see myself as a sort of Peddersen-like person (the character from the childrens´book “Peddersen & Findus”) – an original eccentric, living alone with his cat, Findus, in a cosy, typical Swedish style, red painted, wooden farm house somewhere out in the countryside… living a simple life, chopping a little wood for the fireplace, feeding the cat, and for the rest of the time: carpe diem…

I really don’t know why I always think of Sweden as the place with “plenty of time”. Probably because I’ve only been there on holydays…

Well, let’s stick to reality now: I don’t live a simple life in Sweden – I live a busy one in Malling Dk. Let me face facts and seize the day here… today is today!

About hanne

Mixed media artist working with collage, art-money, artists´ books, ceramics and communication
This entry was posted in Daily life, Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Artist’s blocks?

  1. Ouissi says:

    Your studio is amazing…no wonder you are never short of ideas…the life in the woods sounds fabulous but I think I would miss libraries & the theatre…!

    Ouissi x

  2. Looks like my desk – I have that hole punch too!

  3. Hanna says:

    Love your desk, and agree with you. More time would be great. But I live in Sweden and we have just as little of it as other places. 😉

    take care

  4. kristin says:

    j’aime le bric-à-bric des ateliers, c’est un endroit intime qui révèle une part des artistes ! more ideas, I love your desk !

Leave a Reply

