“Open Studio” – ups and downs


For “Open Studio” this year I’d decided to expose some Artists´ Books (The Books of X-piir) and some of the collages I’m creating for December’s exhibition in Vilnius. I arranged a rather informal exhibition in the living room: a bunch of books at the table – and 5 rows of collages on the floor while my studio looked more or less as usual… (well, a little more clean and tidy maybe…)

And what happened? I don’t know the exact positions of planets this weekend – but something certainly was going on! First I – accidentally of course – smashed my lovely, big, ceramic mermaid-bow while vacuuming the carpet in the living room before “Open Studios”. A slight push to the sofa to get hold of all the dust and fluff, had forgotten I’d placed a very heavy stand with posters leaning to the backside and….BAAAAANG: the bowl lay in bits and pieces on the floor!

Second event: my PC totally collapsed, damn it! Not only do I have to buy another – I also have to re-organize photos, documents, programmes, access codes etc. Luckily a friend of mine managed to transferred most of the stuff from the broken hard disk to a DVD, but still all mails, mail addresses etc. have disappeared. I’ve never made a proper back up, so I’ll have to reconstruct things; not exactly the kind of work I´ve been looking for, it’s necessary though. I’ve bought a new (used) PC, it’s definitely not the fastest PC I’ve seen but that’s the option right now. The rest of my budget is for the upcoming London-trip!

Finally I was informed that a grant I’ve been applying for to support my Vilnius-project was rejected. Well, Saturday was not my day…but of course it’s difficult to always stay in the fair wind…

About hanne

Mixed media artist working with collage, art-money, artists´ books and communication
This entry was posted in Art projects. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Open Studio” – ups and downs

  1. Elin says:

    Hej Hanne,
    En hilsen fra en blogger til en anden. Faldt over dit link på Kunst i Østjylland.
    Hvordan er det at være på WordPress?
    Betaler man for det?

    Du har også valgt at blogge på engelsk. Det er noget jeg tænkte meget over i starten, men så også valgte. Syntes du det er en fordel eller hvad er din erfaring?
    Jeg har en del danske læsere, men de kommenterer ikke så livligt som de amerikanske/engelske.
    BTW: Your english is perfect 🙂

  2. Gabi says:

    Oh! Hanne! What a terrible week for you! It sounds like the plantes were just so misaligned for you. I am sorry that you lost your precious pieces and hope that there will be some way to replace them….. I have broken a few things of mine that are precious as well and I just hate that feeling…. the blood drains from my face and I feel like an empty shell for a while….
    I wish you good luck with your new PC and hope that you can recover all of the lost data!
    Hope your weekend is going well
    ~ Gabi ~

Leave a Reply

