My portfolio?

Having a blog definitely makes it easier to keep an updated record of your projects. It’s great to hand out a business card with your blog address so people who show an interest in your artwork can go and see for themselves what kind of stuff you’re doing.

But still there’re a lot of situations where you need a real, ordinary, tangible portfolio with your C.V. and a number of photos that document who you are and what you’ve been doing. Catalogues, statements and reviews from previous exhibitions also can be relevant to add. Depending on whom you want to address, and on what purpose of course, select the photos you find most appropriate – and convincing.

I have lots of photos stored in different boxes and files but one way or the other they always seem to be totally mixed up and  it’s usually a big effort to pick out the ones I’m looking for. I wish I was a better organized person! Often I dream of having somebody around, a person who’d like to be some sort of secretary, public relation staff and chief accountant. Then I could take care of the creating and developing department… how nice that could be!

Anybody interested in the job? Please, send me an application and include your …portfolio.

About hanne

Mixed media artist working with collage, art-money, artists´ books and communication
This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My portfolio?

  1. Bettina says:

    I have never thought of having my own blog, but I can see that it is a good record of where you have come from. It’s like keeping a journal that it reaches out into the unknown, sometimes getting a response sometimes not, so exciting. Who will respond?
    and why? What will it trigger? and do the responses
    influence what you do next, or take you on a different and unexpected path?
    Do you, have a favorite blog? and are you dissapointed if you find no response to something you have put out?

    It will be interesting to see who will come forward, for the job.

  2. what a great portfolio and great post!

    thanks for sharing it!

    Dena 🙂

  3. mereteveian says:

    Of course you’ll be on my list, – I always love your SF entries.
    I even put the word out that the position is open for an organizer of portfolios, since I’m not the right person to apply for the job right now… (I do not have a portfolio to show for, only a blog… *big smile*)

  4. cally says:

    I’d like that job. Ironic, as I can’t do it for myself but somehow I can organise everyone else.

    Just found your blog, it’s lovely. I esecially like the photo from the birthday, everyone looks so good and the table setting is so stylish and happy.

  5. erika says:

    Jeg trenger å organisere mine ting også. Jeg vet akkurat hvordan det føles. Hvis du finner noen å ta jobben, sender du de til meg etterpå!

    Du spurte meg om jeg bodde på landet men jeg bor faktiske 10 minutter fra Stavanger sentrum. Jepp, der er en bondegård over gaten fra meg men dette er ganske vanlig her i Norge!

    Jeg har tenkt meg en tur ti København i Mars – skal du være i nærheten? Det blir kjekt å hilse på deg!

Leave a Reply

