Big washing day

Spring is here now. I celebrated the day washing and sorting out some of my piles of second hand fabric. I wonder why, but all my thrifted finds always have this vague smell of tobacco and stuffiness. Maybe it’s simply the smell of second hand shop?

Here in Denmark smoking is not accepted in public places any longer. The only sanctuaries left for smokers actually seem to be the second hand shops. At least the non-fancy ones run by a staff of elderly little ladies and gents. Of course it’s difficult to forbid volunteers, who work for free, to drink coffee, smoke cigarettes and socialize while doing their job, so when you get home you have to wash your finds – even if they  look perfectly clean. But it’s okay, I guess it´s  as a way of taking possession of the stuff so to speak.

Today was a perfect day for washing and hanging out the laundry – everything dried in a couple of hours and here it is: sorted out and piled up. Ready for use.

About hanne

Mixed media artist working with collage, art-money, artists´ books and communication
This entry was posted in Daily life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Big washing day

  1. Dargie says:

    For goodness sake, I only just now connected your blog to your Flickr account. *slaps forehead* Took me long enough.

    If you seal fabric in a plastic bag with a dryer sheet for a while, it’ll take away the cigarette smell.

  2. Lynn in Tucson says:

    There’s a very distinct smell to thrift shop goods here, too (in the US) but it’s not cigarettes. I associate it with a strong-smelling detergent I don’t like and…just mustiness, I guess!
    Nice blog! I found you via whip-up.

Leave a Reply

