Variations

My patchwork is in progress. I soon have to decide the final design. We are talking about real small but significant variations – and what to choose???

Basically you see a bunch of hexagons. Each hexagon contains a 6 point star. Now the question is how close I want to place the hexagons.

1) Next to each other?

2) With a little space in between – a small triangle?

3) With even more space – a diamond???

Feel free to tell me your oppinion – this´s really a cardinal decision…

By the way Adrienne, I´ve put some of your shirtfabric into this – and it blends in perfectly!

About hanne

Mixed media artist working with collage, art-money, artists´ books and communication
This entry was posted in Projects, Quilts, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Variations

  1. Lisa says:

    I like nr 1 the most!

  2. jenclair says:

    I think I like #2 — both stars and tumbling blocks appear at the same time. I don’t know why my eyes pick them out in combination on this one. I can make either appear by thinking about it, but on first glance is see both in this version..

  3. mette says:

    definately number 2. Looks great! 🙂

  4. mia says:

    I prefer number 3 because you can see the star shapes more clearly and I do like stars. I think they all look lovely though and I like your choice of fabrics

  5. Kate says:

    Hmm I love them all, but I think #1 is my fav.

  6. Number 2 get’s my vote! All 3 look great, but I like that number 2 shows the star pattern off without looking too regimented.

  7. Lis says:

    Kære Hanne

    Det er sjovt – nr. 1 så jeg allerførst som en gang små kasser – helt tredimensionelt (sådan med et lidt sløret blik, som når man forsøger at se 3D billeder). Først da jeg havde læst dit indlæg helt igennem opdagede jeg, at der var stjerner i den. Af de tre modeller er jeg nok mest til nr. 2.

    Kh
    Lis

  8. Miss Dot says:

    I like no.2, don’t know why, I just do! 🙂

  9. Rae says:

    Hi, I vote for number 2. It’s a lot clearer to find the stars than number 1 & I guess I’ve always had a preference for seeing things staggered rather than lined up (like 3), but that’s just my preference. I love how this quilt is coming out, I’m sure any of the options will be lovely~

  10. erika says:

    Tusen takk for dine ord ang. min sønn. Alltid vanskelig med små men jeg er bestemte meg for å gjøre alt for han. Han SKAL klare seg!
    Jeg må si at jeg liker alle forslagene ang. teppet men må si at nummer 1 og 2 er favorittene.
    Skal begynne å finne hotell i Danmark. Regner med en natt på Legoland og en til to netter i Århus. Få håper at vi kan finne tid til en kaffe og liten prat!

  11. Harmony says:

    The first picture totally looks like tumbling blocks and I love it. Out of 1) and 2) I like 1) the best. The stars in 2) all lined up in a row don’t appeal to me as much.

    I love your website! I quilt, sew, knit, paint/collage and putter myself. God bless the creative spirit!

    Cheers!

  12. bookbabie says:

    Hmmm, I like the first one:-)

  13. the softenss of colors, the design, the feeling seems to come out of the cmoputer and wrap itself around me.
    Beautiful detailed work.
    Impressive !!
    I like them all, 1 and 2 speak louder to me, Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  14. Amy says:

    The more space you put in between the stars the more the focus would be them individually.

    Put close together they create a larger pattern of colr that almost negates the individual stars.

  15. Marcia says:

    Hi, I stumbled here from Studio Friday. I like your #1 version for all its optical illusions. My grandmother called it “Tumbling Blocks”.

  16. michelle says:

    i really like option 2, great work!

    🙂

  17. Shelley Anderson says:

    All 3 versions are wonderful… maybe a series. If I must pick one my favorite would be version 2, you see both the blocks and the stars. My husband just walked by and he voted for version 1. Your fabric and color choice is just wonderful, spring is here.

  18. Hi there! I would LOVE to hear what pattern this is called? Your quilt is beautiful and I can’t seem to find another like it online! Please help? 🙂

Leave a Reply

