Deck chair make over

I got 2 deck chairs at the flea marked recently.

Woodwork and seats were in an okay condition – but the colours were dull – a not so flattering dark brown and a greyish ditto so I decided to redo both chairs.

A layer of white paint – and 2 new seats made out of 2.nd hand fabric and embroidery and a back of a new and strong canvas is what I’ve done so far.  Now I only have to figure out the best way to connect the fabric to the wooden frames.

Think I’ll buy some little brass nails today…

P.S. Click here to see the result…       whipup

About hanne

Mixed media artist working with collage, art-money, artists´ books, ceramics and communication
This entry was posted in Do redo, Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Deck chair make over

  1. I remember my grandparents had old deck chairs like these.
    As a girl I loved them 🙂

  2. Wende says:

    Oh! I would love to know how you did this. I have two chairs that I adore, but the seats are gone. The frames used to be strung with rope, but I suspect fabric could work… it’s the attaching part that gets me. 😀

    Stunning. I adore them. 😀

  3. Wende says:

    Oops… I see that you put up another post with an answer to my question! (I came here from a direct link on Whiplash!). Thanks again for the idea! Lovely.

Leave a Reply

