December

Welcome December, favourite month of mine.

How I enjoy the preparations, the expectations and experiences – the very sight, smell and atmosphere of December!

I really try to keep it simple somehow. I don’t decorate an awful lot; my place is small and too much stuff quickly makes it look heavy and overloaded. A few candles, a basket of red apples, a green branch of spruce, a bit of ivory or moss will do it as far as I’m concerned.

I pick the best of the possibilities and try to leave out some of the more stressful duties. Of course I plan to take an afternoon to bake cookies and make confect. I plan another afternoon or two to write some Christmas cards. An afternoon or two or three is for to hang out with friends and family, enjoy a theatre performance, a church concert, a cup of hot and spicy glögg at some cosy café and a walk in the streets just to watch and enjoy the lights and glitter of the city.

And still there’s time, maybe even for a quiet twilight walk at the seaside – to consider my next art projects. A lot of new challenges have appeared on the schedule for the next months. I’ll soon write another post on that …

About hanne

Mixed media artist working with collage, art-money, artists´ books, ceramics and communication
This entry was posted in Christmas, Daily life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to December

  1. Machteld says:

    Sounds wonderful, I want my december to be like this too…

  2. Felicia says:

    Sounds very wise. Enjoy December 🙂

  3. erika says:

    Jeg er så enig! Jeg elsker desember og selv om vi er midt opp renovasjoner, gleder jeg meg til jul. Så kjekt å høre om bokens suksess. Gleder meg å høre hva du jobber med nå. god jul!

  4. Angela says:

    Hanne, it does indeed sound perfect. Ironically most of us have to “work” at having such a low key christmas. I have been working at it a lot lately and my agenda looks a lot like yours. I look forward to seeing more of your artwork and hope that this will be the year that you can come to the U.S. to teach art. Perhaps at ArtFest? (www.teeshamoore.com)
    Merry Christmas

  5. Låter som en behaglig och mysig december! En rikitgt god jul!

Leave a Reply

