Spotted quilt

Here you are: my new quilt made for a commissioned article. Actually it’s my second attempt, my quilt no. 2. I never really liked the first one, but this one I’m absolutely pleased with! 

 I can’t tell exactly what went wrong with the first quilt, but somehow I was too concerned about what the editor would like or not like – so I gave up some of my own ideas. I was never asked to do so, it just happened. And to be honest I have tried it before: commissioned works almost always kills me. Of course that’s a bit exaggerated – but the main thing is; when I get too considerate to the expectations of the outside world my creative powers´re drained and I end up with something less than best. I hate it! It seems I have a serious lesson to learn here: How to cooperate – and still be in charge of my own business. Anyway the first quilt clearly convinced me I had no other choice than starting over again…and luckily I still had time… and luckily in the meantime I had been at Aros seeing the Mariku Mori (fabulous!) exhibition. I’m not sure but I wouldn’t rule out that’s what inspired me to add a new element to the quilt: spots/dots.  

About hanne

Mixed media artist working with collage, art-money, artists´ books, ceramics and communication
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Quilts. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Spotted quilt

  1. Colette says:

    It is a beautiful quilt. I know exactly what you mean about commissions; it used to drive me crazy until I realized that the person doing the commissioning has their own idea in their head but they are asking you to do it for them. One client of mine told me she wanted certain colours which I would never use because they do not go together (one colour muddies the other) and in the end I had to turn her down. Commissions come to you because the person loves your style and maybe they have a preference for a little something that you can incorporate. so you have to be brave to take what they want and do it YOUR way, in your style. Because if you go against yourself to please them, it doesn’t work (as you have experienced already), and you have to then ask, why did they come to you in the first place?

  2. Jeg elsker din quilt! Perfekt fargematch i mine øyne, jeg likte det duse, lyse i bunn, med de prangende sirklene oppå. Mmmmm….. Lovely!

  3. vilhelmsdal says:

    Den gør da én glad i låget . . .

    Happy Pancake Day !!

  4. Morgan McLaughlin says:

    Absolutely love this quilt. It makes me want to learn how to quilt so I can make my own.

  5. Jennifer says:

    This is gorgeous; I am sure it will be well-received. Our own learning processes, our own editing and sense of “good enough” are the things that push us to do more than we thought we could. I think it’s less about self-doubt and more about that knowledge that there’s something else in you that’s meant to be explored….

  6. Kristel says:

    Hej,
    What a lovely quilt! So fresh and unique!

  7. Mette says:

    Smuk sammensætning – som altid!!

Leave a Reply

