Key Story

In less than two months I’m going to Korea, invited by the Korean Bookarts Association, to display examples of my Artists´Books at the Seongnam International Bookarts Fair. Another 4-5 international artists are invited – and of course a lot of Korean Artists!

I feel very honoured – and exited! I have never been to Asia before. Well, yes I have, but it was to the absolutely west most part of Asia: the eastern provinces of Anatolia, Turkey, many ears ago… My impression then was of a very poor and rural area, very, very inflicted by the Turkish-Kurdish conflict.

This is going to be different. South Korea is one of the world’s technology and scientifically advanced and urbanized countries. I can’t wait to see how high-tech-Korea will meet low-key-me – and visa versa!

But first I have things to do. Most important: What works do I want to bring? I’ve been reviewing all possibilities; still it’s hard to decide. I can bring 8 – 15 works + editions. I take the maximum of 15 books – also because almost all my works are the one-of-a-kind sort. (I usually don’t do editions; I have one or two exceptions though. I’ll show you later.)

The images above are from a short story about the lifecycle and family structure of a key. It’s one of the pieces I have decided to bring along.

About hanne

Mixed media artist working with collage, art-money, artists´ books, ceramics and communication
This entry was posted in Artists´Books. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Key Story

  1. Camilla says:

    Congratulations on being invited, that’s so exciting for you. I imagine you’ll have an amazing time there.

  2. erika says:

    Gratulerer! Ha en fantastisk tur!

  3. hi ihanne

    thanks for your comment on our blog.. I could not find your e-mail, so I write to you on your blog.
    Unfortunately I won’t be at the Seongnam book fair. I will be in Seoul just before that for an exhibition with the Sujak group in the Sun Won Paper Gallery, and in may at the Seoul Artist’s Book Fair.
    On April 26 and 27th I’m in Glasgow at the Artist’s Fair there.
    I’m sure you will love South Korea.. and be prepared for the unbeleivable enthousiasm of young Koreans for artists books!!
    Let me know your impressions at your return.
    all the best
    Francis from Redfoxpress

  4. iHanna says:

    Vilka vackra böcker! Jag fattar inte hur du kan få till så fina ytor jämt? Säg till om du behöver en assistent med dig som kan bära dina konstverk i Korea? 😉

    Grattis!

  5. *Marie* says:

    Hi Ihanne!!!
    Thank you so much for your lovely words on my blog!! We moved to DK cause my husband got a new job! We absolutely love it here, just the tax for the car was a shock:) My kids go to a Danish school and they learn the language very quick!!!They found friends, and the first hard time in school is over that they were foreigners. I will start with a language lessons in near future but I understand more than I can write or speak. I love to read danish magazines and craft books and of cause danish blogs, too. In that way I learn more new words and I can see how my Danish blogger ladies live. I found you via a Finnish lady she got you in her Flickr friends. Now I will bring my kids to bed but then I will look through your beautiful blog!! I wish you a great week and I hope to see more of you on Flickr and of cause on your blog:))….*Marie*

  6. Hyein says:

    Oh how exciting. I hope you have a wonderful time in Korea.

  7. jeska says:

    How exciting! Such beautiful works I’m sure they will be received very well. Hope you have a great trip.

    Jess

  8. Hei Hanne.

    Jeg har sett dine lappetepper, men visste ikke at du også lager “book art”. Denne nøkkelboken er jo helt fantastisk.

    Lykke til i Korea.

  9. joanie says:

    That’s really beautiful. I just finished a book binding project for children and have really enjoyed learning about the book binding process. I’d love to see more of your books. Have a lovely trip.

  10. These, I REALLY like!

Leave a Reply

