Greetings from Korea


THIS IS great! I’m so dying to show you guys my photos from the Seongnam Bookart Fair – but I forgot to bring my uploading gear so you have to be patient a few more days…

Anyway, being here’s an incredible experience – and time just flies away! Every day has been strictly scheduled and occupied by putting up the individual booths for Artists´ Books, attending the official opening of the fair in the nearby “Childrens Bookart Park” – very formal – and magnificent(!), official dinner for all invited artists + members of the Korean Papermakers Association and official tea with the president of Korean Bookart Association, photoevents(!) and yesterday all the invited international artists had a one day outing to at a local (3.rd generation) paper mill, and a visit to the print art department at one of the leading universities of Seoul.

Today has been occupied by the four of us (Tara O´Brien, USA, John Brebner, Homeprint, Autralia, Anne- Maree Hunter, New Zealand and me) giving lectures on various aspects of Artists´ Books.

I think we all are totally overwhelmed by the interest and enthusiasm that embraces us from the Korean artists and audience. Also the organizers and staff are just incredibly kind, helpful and generous. I have never, ever, experienced anything alike!

About hanne

Mixed media artist working with collage, art-money, artists´ books and communication
This entry was posted in Artists´Books, Travelling. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Greetings from Korea

  1. Seugn Jin Oh says:

    Wow~! nice to meet you again~
    well,, actually i don’t have sure that you will remember me..
    but i’ve seen you in Seoung-nam book art fair.
    I hope you enjoy this fair and have a good time..
    and i do wish you will enjoy this fair next year, too..!! 🙂

  2. Lynn in Tucson says:

    That looks SO fabulous! I can’t wait to see your photos and hear more!

  3. inge bekaert says:

    Hello Hanne,

    I love the idea of the little books on strings… maybe an idea to give as a present to my teacher in bookbinding at the end of this year !

    I’m sure you see lots of beautiful books and “book-idea’s” : so, yes, I want to see a lot of photo’s !

    greetings and enjoy your trip!
    Inge ( from Belgium)

  4. Minjin in Seongnam book fair says:

    Hi! Mrs. Matthiesen !

    we met in Seong nam book art fair ,
    and I think you may forget me !
    but i’m OK!
    I wanted to have long talking ,, but ,, well I’m not good at English.
    But I love your childhood story and book !
    especially , your horse!
    And your drawing and photo were very interesting !
    Also you have great passion!(when you talk about your books)
    I envy and respect you
    I wanted buy your diary paper ,,, it’s so cool
    i love nature and vitage things and your box reform paper is what I want
    but i’m just student,, my money is not much
    So If I meet you again and next fair , , I expect !!

  5. Myriam Kim says:

    Wow! I finally found out your site. I’m one of the participants of International conference held in Seongnam Bookart fair. Your lecture so impressive that I decided to try to contact with you!
    I’m a mother of one boy and a very old student majoring Design in Hongik International design school for advanced studies. And also I work as an editor, book designer, and writer as well. And I’m a just starter in field of ‘book art’.
    I’ve lived in France during several years for long time ago, I really miss the European atmosphere… I really want to have a chance to visit your studio(house?) in Denmark one day!!!
    You mentioned that you have plan to have a work shop this year with a French artist? (I speak French very well). Thanks to let me know more details later on. I’d like to participate if available….(Please let me know your email address). See you soon.

  6. Lisa Kairos says:

    What a fabulous opportunity! It sounds like you have an enthusiastic audience, and lots to soak up and enjoy. I can’t wait to see more pictures.

Leave a Reply

