Premiere

IMG_0975IMG_0989IMG_0970

Proud to announce the premiere of my first  OPUS – Sunday on the tower bells of Joure (NL).

My piece is a “translation” from handwriting to sound – inspired by Leonard Cohen’s “Anthem”. The words I love so sincerely are the last lines that say: “There’s a crack, a crack in everything ….That’s how the light gets in”. I literally tried this out by making holes in the text. The holes are where the sound actually comes out.

My dear friend Joop, a fantastic, Dutch, multi-artist (graphic printer, musician, composer, etc. whom I met in Lithuania about one year ago) transferred my holes to a score so, in principle, it can (and will!) be played by carillon player Auke de Boer.

The reason I say “in principle” is that of course I’m neither a music expert or composer. The holes are therefore made in such random ways that I can not guarantee the nature and quality of the tones and sounds they let pass. It’ll probably sound a little … crazy? In fact the whole hole project is a bit mad – but it’s been very exciting to work with! It’s completely new territory for me to work with sound – to make a soundscape – but very inspiring! And certainly not the last time!

About hanne

Mixed media artist working with collage, art-money, artists´ books and communication
This entry was posted in Art, Installation. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Premiere

Leave a Reply

