Simple(r) Living?

DSC03712

Guess you know the feeling. How stuff, paper, materials, clothing, etc. tend to pile up over time without you noticing – until suddenly one day you wake up and realize that you are drowning in junk and stuff?

One by one it can be both fine and useful objects, but in total it just becomes too much – it’s an almost suffocating sensation!

That’s how I feel every spring! Suddenly and violently I’m overpowered by an almost uncontrollable urge to cut to the core. Free myself from the weight of things. A need to review what’s essential; What I actually want to keep in my life? AND what must be sorted out (passed on to others who can use the stuff).

So I am clearly in a period of sorting my worldly goods, books, papers, clothes, trinkets and more. A process that almost inevitably leads on to reflections on how to simplify ALL aspects of life. Thoughts on whom and what will I use my time and energy. A very necessary, healthy and healing process.

About hanne

Mixed media artist working with collage, art-money, artists´ books and communication
This entry was posted in G13, Things to do. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simple(r) Living?

  1. Oh, I so know that feeling. Things that should be filed stay in the ‘to file’ pile and I have so much stuff that I keep ‘just in case’. Your post has given me the push I need; off to sort out the house now. Thank you🙂

Leave a Reply

