365 Collages

Here are some photos from my exhibition – 365 collages – one for every day of the year.

My idea has been to make a sort of visual journal or record – one year of my life – in of photos, drawings, texts, bills, notes, tickets, scrap and fabric, bits and pieces.

I think life can be seen as a sort of collage in itself – like a big and colourful patchwork or one long line of moments.

 We all contain many aspects of personality, individuality but also of general character. We’re all trying to find a balance between duty and pleasure, between work and family, independence, freedom, solidarity and connection. Most of us struggle to find a way to express our inner self. And to find time for it. One minute here, one hour here, all squized in between the kids, the pets, the laundrary, the phone calling, the bills to pay, the things to do. Anyway, that’s some of the issues I’ve tried to describe with this exhibition.

All collages hang in order by day and month. Starting 1st January, ending 31st December. Some journal pages are very full, detailed and elaborate; other pages are more or less blank.

Before travelling to Vilnius I was so busy I actually never saw all pages at one time. So it was a pleasant surprise to see them all unfold and hang in “my” room.

You can see more photos at flickr.

About hanne

Mixed media artist working with collage, art-money, artists´ books, ceramics and communication
This entry was posted in Art Money, Travelling. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 365 Collages

  1. Maija says:

    What an awesome adventure! It will feed your soul for a lifetime!

  2. Hanna says:

    oh my oh my, that is just sooo cool that you’ve made such a project and that it just fills a whole room! lovely wall hangings. makes me so mad that my art journal has not been filled YET – and I started it in february this year! but then of course, I do a lot of other crafts as well.

    beautiful photos!

  3. Hi!
    I just found your lovely blog and your flickr! so fantastic to do all these collage! I really love your work. I will return here and to your flickr.

    Jag är från Sverige, såg att du var danska så det kanske går bra att skriva på svenska??!

    Hälsningar Gunnel Svensson (Göteborg)

  4. Kay says:

    i love your blog and work…very inspiring and beautiful. I would love an entire wall of your collection!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.